Thursday, 19 August 2021

A Meditative Walk at the Stations of the Cross

The Stations of the Cross park boasts a beautiful heritage Elm tree. It is said to date back to 1906.

The walk through the Stations of the Cross begins with the Last Supper.

After the supper we are reminded of the agony in the garden where Jesus prayed as the disciples slept.

Station One:
Jesus condemned to death.

Station Two:
Jesus bears his cross.

Station Three:
Jesus falls the first time.

Station Four:
Jesus meets his mother.

Station Five:
Jesus helped by Simon.

Station Six:
Veronica wipes the face of Jesus.

Station Seven:
Jesus falls the second time.

Station Eight: 
Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem.

Station Nine:
Jesus falls a third time.

Station Ten:
Jesus is stripped of his robe.

Station Eleven:
Jesus is nailed to the cross.

Station Twelve:
Jesus dies on the cross.

Station Thirteen:
Jesus is taken down from the cross.

Station Fourteen:
Jesus is laid in the tomb.

Station Fifteen:
Jesus rises from the dead.

I really cannot say enough positive things about this Stations of the Cross park. It is located adjacent to the St. Joseph’s Home in Medicine Hat, Alberta. It is spectacular! I am fortunate and blessed to be able to walk through this park weekly. Weather permitting, it is a great place for prayer and meditation, or simply to take a little time out on one of the benches with a good book. Even if the weather is less than ideal, it is still worth visiting. Peace.

🙏  🙏  🙏
“This same Jesus, who has been taken from you into heaven,
will come back in the same way you have seen him go into heaven.”
Acts 1:11 (NIV)

No comments:

Post a Comment